CAPCON 2012-2013

(Annual conference of Chhattisgarh Chapter of Indian Association of Pathologists and Microbiologist)

The Chhattisgarh Chapter of Indian Association of Pathologists and Microbiologists in collaboration with the Department of Pathology, Medical and Health Services of the Bhilai Steel Plant organized the annual conference "CAPCON 2012-2013" at Bhilai Niwas on the **17th of February 2013**. Dr A.T. Dabke, Vice-Chancellor of the AYUSH and Health Sciences University of Chhattisgarh and Dr Subodh Hiran, Director Incharge Medical and Health Services, Bhilai Steel Plant were the Chief Guest and Guest of Honour respectively. The conference was inaugurated by the ceremonial lighting of the 'Lamp of Knowledge' by the Chief guest and Guest of Honour along with renowned pathologists. Dr Tejinder Singh Director Professor MAMC New Delhi, Dr Asitava Mondal Vice-President IAPM and well known cyto-pathologist from Kolkota, Dr D N Lanjewar Professor of Pathology from JJ Hospital Mumbai and Dr (Col.) D K Mishra, Senior Consultant Laboratory Medicine, TATA Medical Centre Kolkota and honorary Secretary IAPM. Dr Shailendra Jain and Dr Ashok Ghorpade Directors Medical and Helath Services BSP also graced the occasion

Dr A T Dabke recalled his days as an undergraduate student striving to learn Pathology and Microbiology . He said infection control practices and antibiotic policy needs to be strengthened in days to come . He further added the importance of molecular pathology being the future in the diagnostic field . Dr Subodh Hiran recalled that the Pathologists and Microbiologists play central role in the diagnosis . He further added that conferences like these enabled the specialists to further their knowledge and diagnostic skills . Earlier Dr J P Meshram , President IAPM State Chapter delivered the welcome address . Dr Raju Bhaisare ,organizing secretary and secretary Chhattisgarh Chapter of IAPM ,presented the Annual report of the State Chapter for the year 2012-2013. Dr Manisha Kango had compiled the souvenir of CAPCON 2013 and it was released by the chief guest in the inaugural function . Senior Pathologist Dr S K Bhagoliwal , Dr S G Ghatge , Dr V Sudarshan and Dr Sachi Diwan were honoured by the State Chapter for their contributions towards the field of Pathology. Dr Maheep Bhalla Chairman CAPCON 2012-2013 honoured the Chief Guest and Guest of Honour . Dr R K Chandrakar proposed the vote of thanks.

The delegates from the state got an opportunity to learn from eminent guest speakers . Dr Asitava Mondal talked on "Fluid Cytology" and "Interesting lesions of Head and Neck". In his talk , Dr Mondal illustrated the utility of Fluid Cytology and cautioned about its short comings at the light microscopy level .The audience were impressed with his collection of interesting cases of Head and Neck . Dr D N Lanjewar emphasized the importance of Autopsy in Medical field in his lectures . His interactive lectures with audience was well appreciated . Dr D K Mishra gave an elaborate talk on 'Investigation of Bleeding Disorder'. He reinforced on the algorithmic approach towards evaluating bleeding disorder. Dr Tejinder Singh's lecture on Bone Marrow evaluation was very informative . He gave a detailed account of various lesions that can be diagnosed on Bone marrow study.

Scientific papers , oral as well as poster , were presented by post graduate students of the state . The presentations showcased the research work being carried out in various institutions of the state. Dr A Lobo 's paper on "Oro-facial swellings What Lies Beneath? – A Histopathologic Perspective" from JNMC Raipur and Dr Vidisha Singh's paper on "Sero-prevalence of Transfusion Transmissable Infection Among Blood Donors at a Tertiary Care Centre of North Chhattisgarh" from CIMS Bilaspur, secured the first and the second prize respectively in the Oral category of presentation. In the poster category , Dr Vibhuti Jain's poster on "Retro-Orbital Primary Hydatid Cyst: A Rare Presentation" and Dr (Ms) P Sharma's paper on "Incidental Autopsy Findings In Sudden Death" got first and second prize respectively. Dr D N Lanjewar distributed the prizes to the winners during the valedictory function . Dr Ashok Agarwal senior Pathologist from Bilaspur presented the Bhagath Narian Memorial Gold Medal to Dr (Ms) A.Lobo for the best scientific paper of the conference. Dr Ravindranath M and Dr Gurmeet Singh conducted the academic sessions.

Senior doctors from all parts of the state and postgraduate students from JNMC Raipur and JLNHRC Bhilai attended the conference. Exhibition stalls were arranged for the display of various products of the companies .The delegates expressed great appreciation in all matters of the organization of the conference. Dr DN Lanjewar congratulated the organizing committee for the wonderful arrangements . He pointed out

that the successful organization was due to team work and the camaraderie amongst the pathologists of the state. He expressed hope that Chhattisgrah Pathologists and Microbiologists will organize the national conference also. The conference concluded on very positive note and the members resolved to meet in Bilaspur in 2014.

Dr Raju Bhaisare, Organising Secretary & State Chairperson, Chhattisgarh Chapter, IAPM. <u>dr.rajubhaisare@gmail.com</u> +91-9407981846



Address by secretary

Audience at CAPCON



CAPCON 2013 17-2-2013



G.B Meet



G.B.Meet

Lighting of Lamp 17-2-2013



Poster presentation



Pre conference CME



Pre conference CME 1



Pre conference CME 16-2-2013



Pre conference CME venue



Scientific Paper Presentation











